Welcome to AAM

Tarek Zohdi Named 2019 AAM Fellow

Tarek I. Zohdi is currently a Chancellors Professor of Mechanical Engineering, holder of the W. C. Hall Family Endowed Chair in Engineering, Chair of the Designated Emphasis Program in Computational and Data Science and Engineering (DE-CSE) at UC Berkeley and Chief Technology Officer UC Berkeley Fung Institute for Innovation. Previously, he has served as the Chair of the UC Berkeley College of Engineering Faculty (2018-2020) and Chair of the Engineering Science Program at UC Berkeley (2008-2012). He is also a Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Labs. His main research interests are in modeling, simulation and optimization of advanced manufacturing processes with emphasis on nonconvex multiscale-multiphysics inverse problems.

Please join us in congratulating Professor Zohdi!

AAM 13th Elsevier Distinguished Lecture in Mechanics

The American Academy of Mechanics 13th Elsevier Distinguished Lecture in Mechanics will take place on April 2nd, 2020 at the University of Pittsburgh.

The entire series (starting from the inaugural presentation by Prof. J. Achenbach in 2008) can be found posted on the Materials Today website.

Download the event flyer

Updated:  January 13, 2020